

## Amritanagar Post, Ettimadai, Coimbatore 641 112

## 38th Academic Council Meeting

## **MINUTES**

Date: Thursday, August 20, 2020

Time: 11 a.m.

Venue: Meeting convened through Microsoft Teams

The following members participated.

- 1. Dr. P Venkat Rangan, Vice Chancellor
- 2. Dr. K Sankaran, Registrar
- 3. Prof. C Parameswaran (Director CIR)
- 4. Dr. Prem Nair, Dean, Faculty of Medical Sciences
- 5. Dr. Shantikumar V Nair (Dean, Research),
- 6. Dr. U Krishnakumar, ASAS Kochi
- 7. Dr. Bipin Nair (Dean, School of Biotechnology)
- 8. Dr. Sasangan Ramanathan (Dean-Engg.)
- 9. Dr. Krishnashree Achuthan (Dean, PG Programmes)
- 10. Dr. Maneesha Sudheer (Dean, International Programmes)
- 11. Dr. Balakrishnan Shankar, Associate Dean, Amritapuri
- 12. Dr. Kishore Pillai (Associate Dean-Management)
- 13. Dr. R Dhandapani (Controller of Examinations)
- 14. Swami Sankaramritanada Puri, Principal, School of Ayurveda, Amritapuri
- 15. Br. Devidasa Chaitanya, Director, Amritapuri Campus
- 16. Shri. I.B.Manikantan, Director, Chennai Campus
- 17. Dr. S N Jyothi (Principal, School of Engineering, Amritapuri)
- 18. Dr. Sriram Devanathan, Principal, ASE, Bangalore.
- 19. Dr. R Balagopal Varma (Principal, School of Dentistry)
- 20. Prof. KT Moly (Principal, College of Nursing)
- 21. Dr. PSureshkumar, Principal, School of Agriculture Sciences
- 22. Dr. P Shankar, Principal, ASE Chennai,
- 23. Dr. (Col) Vishal Marwaha, Principal, School of Medicine, Kochi
- 24. Dr. M Sabitha (Principal, School of Pharmacy)
- 25. Dr. V M Nandakumaran, Principal, ASAS Amritapuri
- 26. Dr. Raghu Raman (Head, Centre for Ranking and Accreditation)
- 27. Dr. Rajiv Nair, Chairperson (Management, Amritapuri)
- 28. Dr. AVShyam, Chairperson, School of Business, Coimbatore
- 29. Dr. P. Manoj, Chairperson, DOM, Bangalore,
- 30. Prof. Sunanda Muraleedharan, Chairperson, DOM, Kochi

Swami Abhayamritananda Puri (Pro Chancellor), Dr. VS Somanath (Dean, Management), Br. Viswamrta Chaitanya, Director, Bangalore Campus, Br. Anantananda, Director, Mysore Campus and Dr. Rekha Bhatt (Principal i/c, ASAS Mysore) could not attend the meeting. Leave of absence was granted to them.

The following decisions were taken.

- 1. The minutes for the 37th meeting of the Academic Council on 14<sup>th</sup> May, 2020 were confirmed.
- 2. Decided to recommend to the Board of Management the list of graduands eligible to receive their degrees in the first convocation of the year 2020.
- 3. Approved the rank and medal winners (Campus Level) for the convocation of 2020 presented at the meeting by the Controller of Examinations. The official list of ranks and medals will be circulated soon by the Controller of Examinations.
- 4. Decided that the list of University level medal winners and Amriteswari medal winner will be decided later after the complete set of results of graduating batches are finalised.
- 5. Decided that the Heads of Institutions can forward to the Registrar by 15 September, 2020 the list of prospective winners of medals at the university level or the Amriteswari medal together with accomplishments of the students with proof. The criterion for deciding these medals have been circulated together with the notification of the Academic Council meeting.
- 6. Decided to approve the new/revised curriculum and syllabus of the following programmes subject to the Head of the Institution where this programme is to be implemented obtains the clearance from the respective campus director in terms of the necessary infrastructure and faculty and the IQAC coordinator of the school for the curriculum to have satisfied all the NAAC requirements. IQAC coordinator has to ensure that all the details are entered into the AUMS database. The letters of approval from the Campus Director and IQAC coordinator are to be forwarded to the Registrar.
  - 6.1. Post doctoral fellowship program in Maxillofacial Prosthodontics received from school of dentistry
  - 6.2. Five Year Integrated MSW
  - 6.3. B.Tech Computer Science and Engineering (Cyber Security)
  - 6.4. Two Year M.Sc Applied Statistics and Data Analytics
  - 6.5. Three years B.Sc. Data Science
  - 6.6. 2 year M.C.A.
  - 6.7. M.Phil Mathematics
- 7. Approved the syllabus for the following elective courses.
  - 7.1. PhD courses in mathematics
  - 7.2. Elective courses for Integrated M.Sc Mathematics with minor in Data Science.
  - 7.3. Elective courses in Int. M.Sc. Mathematics
- 8. The following orders issued with approval of the vice-Chancellor were ratified.
  - 8.1. On modified curriculum for B.Tech Mechanical Engineering.
  - 8.2. On use of AUMS
- 9. The meeting discussed the issue of non-implementation of revised curriculum for M.Sc. Physics students in Amritapuri campus during the years 2018 and 2019 and decided as follows. The action of Principal, Amrita School of Arts and Science, Amritapuri for having followed the 2015 curriculum instead of the 2018 curriculum for M.Sc. Physics students admitted in the years 2018 and 2019 is condoned. From the year 2020 onwards the latest approved curriculum and syllabus should be strictly followed.

- 10. Prof. Parameswaran updated the meeting with placements that have taken place during the current year.
- 11. Dr. Maneesha informed the meeting of the timely warning issued by the Amrita Landslide Monitoring cell on impending possibility of land slide just prior to the event occurring in Munnar in early August 2020.
- 12. The vice-chancellor suggested that data science experts of the university can use Covid patient data from AIMS hospital as their study material.

The meeting concluded at 1.00 p.m. with shanti mantra.

Dr. K Sankaran

Registrar